

# RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNCIL LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE

Minutes of the virtual meeting of the Local Education Authority Governors Appointments Committee held on Tuesday, 24 November 2020 at 10.30am.

# County Borough Councillors - Local Education Authority Governors Appointments Committee Members in attendance:-

Councillor J Rosser (Chair)

Councillor D Owen-Jones Councillor M Powell Councillor J Brencher

#### Officers in attendance:-

Miss N Morgan, School Organisation and Governance Team Leader

### 1 APOLOGY FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence was received from County Borough Councillor S. Rees-Owen.

### 2 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

**RESOLVED** – In accordance with the Members Code of Conduct, the following declaration of personal interest in a matter pertaining to the agenda was declared:-

County Borough Councillor J. Brencher in respect of agenda item 4 "I am a Governor at Maesycoed and Coedylan Primary".

County Borough Councillor J. Rosser in respect of agenda item 4 "I am an Applicant at Trealaw Primary".

County Borough Councillor M. Powell in respect of agenda item 4 "I am a Governor at Hawthorn High and Coedpenmaen Primary".

### 3 MINUTES

It was **RESOLVED** to approve the minutes of the 20<sup>th</sup> July 2020 as an accurate reflection of the meeting.

#### 4 TO CONSIDER PASSING THE UNDER-MENTIONED RESOLUTION:-

**RESOLVED** that the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972 for the

following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 13 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act (as amended), namely, information relating to a particular individual. Transparency in the conduct of Local Authority business is desirable, however, personal data relating to the conduct and capabilities of individuals will be discussed and considered. Consequently, it is considered the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs and the public interest in disclosing information.

# 5 APPLICATION FOR APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

In her report, the School Organisation and Governance Team Leader advised the Committee of applications received for Local Education Authority governorships.

In addition to the applications listed in the report, eight late applications for governorships were circulated for consideration.

Following consideration of the applications before them, Members **RESOLVED** that the following persons be appointed as Local Education Authority Governors, as set out below:

SCHOOL	GOVERNOR	EFFECTIVE DATE
Aberdare Park Primary	Mr C Jones	24 <sup>th</sup>
		November
		2020
Bodringallt Primary	Mrs C Pryor	7 <sup>th</sup> February
		2021
Capcoch Primary	Mr J Jenkins	24 <sup>th</sup> April
		2021
Cefn/Craig yr Hesg Federated	Mr P Westwood	24 <sup>th</sup>
		November
		2020
Cefn/Craig yr Hesg Federated	Ms R Davies	19 <sup>th</sup> October
		2020
Coedylan Primary	Mrs L Thomas	24 <sup>th</sup>
		November
		2020
Cwmclydach Primary	Mr A Smith	5 <sup>th</sup> January
		2021
Cwmdar Primary	CBC S Rees	3 <sup>rd</sup> March
		2021
Cwmlai Primary	Ms E Anstee	24 <sup>th</sup>
		November
		2020
Cymmer Primary	Mr M Stevenson	24 <sup>th</sup>
		November
		2020

Cymmer Primary	CBC M Tegg	5 <sup>th</sup> January 2021
Cymmer Primary	Mr S Towell	5 <sup>th</sup> January
Darran Park Primary	Mr J Askwith	24 <sup>th</sup> November 2020
Darrenlas Primary	Mrs S Burrows	3 <sup>rd</sup> March 2021
Darrenlas Primary	CBC W Treeby	3 <sup>rd</sup> March 2021
Gelli Primary	Mr C Jones	24 <sup>th</sup> November 2020
Gwauncelyn Primary	Mr C Garlick	24 <sup>th</sup> November 2020
Gwaunmeisgyn Primary	Mrs J Evans	24 <sup>th</sup> November 2020
Gwaunmeisgyn Primary	Miss L Kidner	5 <sup>th</sup> January 2021
Hawthorn Primary	CBC S Pickering	24 <sup>th</sup> November 2020
Hawthorn Primary	CBC A Roberts	24 <sup>th</sup> November 2020
Hirwaun Primary	Councillor M Morgan	24 <sup>th</sup> November 2020
Llanharan Primary	Mrs S James	24 <sup>th</sup> November 2020
Llanharan Primary	Miss S Greenman	21st September 2020
Llwyncrwn Primary	Mrs S Mahoney	24 <sup>th</sup> November 2020
Llwyncrwn Primary	Mr C Newcombe	1 <sup>st</sup> September 2020
Llwynypia Primary	Mr K Harry	24 <sup>th</sup> November 2020
Maesycoed Primary	Mrs K Edmunds	24 <sup>th</sup> November 2020

Oaklands Primary	CBC Sheryl Evans	1st
Oakianus Primary	CDC Shery Evans	
		September
D	000000	2020
Parc Lewis Primary	CBC S Powderhill	5 <sup>th</sup> January
		2021
Penpych Primary	CBC W Jones	5 <sup>th</sup> January
		2021
Penygawsi Primary	CBC G Holmes	24 <sup>th</sup>
		November
		2020
Penyrenglyn Primary	CBC W Jones	24 <sup>th</sup>
		November
		2020
Penywaun Primary	CBC H Boggis	7 <sup>th</sup> February
Citywadii i iiiiai y	OBO 11 Boggis	2021
Porthodyn Primary	Mrs N Richards	
Perthcelyn Primary	IVIIS IN RICHARDS	5 <sup>th</sup> January 2021
D (1 1 D)	1.4	
Pontrhondda Primary	Mrs A Lane	24 <sup>th</sup>
		November
		2020
Pontrhondda Primary	Mr G Williams	21 <sup>st</sup>
		September
		2020
Trallwng Infants	Mr P Westwood	7 <sup>th</sup> February
		2021
Trealaw Primary	CBC J Rosser	24 <sup>th</sup>
,		November
		2020
Trealaw Primary	Ms B Rowe	5 <sup>th</sup> January
Trodiaw i iiiiai y	Wie B rewe	2021
Treorchy Primary	CBC A Chapman	24 <sup>th</sup>
Treording Filliary	CBC A Chapman	November
		2020
Turnel and Drive and	NA:	
Trerobart Primary	Mrs H Watkiss	24 <sup>th</sup>
		November
	<u> </u>	2020
Trerobart Primary	Mr R Flowerdew	1st September
		2020
Williamstown Primary	Mr K Harry	24 <sup>th</sup>
		November
		2020
Ynysboeth Primary	Fr B Rabjohns	5 <sup>th</sup> January
		2021
YGG Aberdar	Mrs K Smith	24 <sup>th</sup>
		November
		2020
YGG Evan James	Mrs V Fry	24 <sup>th</sup>
1 30 Evan vanios	IVII O V I I Y	November
		2020
		2020

YGG Llwyncelyn	Mr H Burge	24 <sup>th</sup>
		November
		2020
YGG Pontsionnorton	Ms C Huntly	24 <sup>th</sup>
		November
		2020
YGGG Llantrisant	Mrs C Willis	24 <sup>th</sup> April
		2020
Ysgol Llanhari	Mr B Harris	24 <sup>th</sup>
		November
		2020
Maesgwyn Special	Dr R Brooks	24 <sup>th</sup>
		November
		2020
Ferndale Community School	Mr M Stevenson	24 <sup>th</sup>
-		November
		2020
Pontypridd High School	Councillor S Carter	25 <sup>th</sup>
		November
		2020
Ysgol Cwm Rhondda	Mr M Stevenson	24 <sup>th</sup>
		November
		2020
Ysgol Gyfun Rhydwaun	Mrs A Reynolds	24 <sup>th</sup>
		November
		2020

(**Note:** Having earlier declared a personal and prejudicial interest in the matter County Borough Councillor J. Brencher left the meeting for the Appointment of the Governors at Maesycoed Primary).

(**Note:** Having earlier declared a personal and prejudicial interest in the matter County Borough Councillor J. Rosser left the meeting for the Appointment of the Governors at Trealaw Primary).

This meeting closed at 11.03 am

CLLR J ROSSER CHAIR.